Admin

NPS Task Force Seeks Subcommittee Input

NPS School Re-Opening Task Force Seeks Subcommittee Input
Posted on 07/09/2020
NPS LOGO

Subcommittees are now full. Thank you to all who volunteered. If you would like to offer input and be added to a waiting list for future openings, please email the appropriate Committee Lead below. 

The Norwalk Public Schools Re-Opening Task Force is seeking parent, staff and community volunteers to work on subcommittees that are planning for the reopening of school this fall.

Si desea leer sobre El Equipo Operativo de Reapertura, por favor haga clic aquí.

Convened by Dr. Alexandra Estrella, Superintendent of Schools, the School Re-Opening Task Force is providing the advice and expertise necessary for successful implementation of the fall re-opening model. The Task Force brings together district and school leaders, teachers, paraprofessionals, parents and community partners.

For the original announcement of the Re-Opening Task Force, please click here.

The Re-Opening Task Force has established 11 subcommittees to address critical areas. Subcommittees will meet two to three times per week over the next several weeks to provide input into the district’s re-opening proposal to the State, and then approximately once per week until the start of the school year. Meetings will be via videoconference, or in-person if public health conditions allow. Subcommittees will be limited to ten members to ensure effective working groups. Efforts will be made to ensure that different grade levels and schools are represented.        

To express interest in volunteering for a subcommittee, please email the appropriate Committee Lead identified below as soon as possible, but no later than Monday, July 13.

Subcommittee

Lead(s)

Contact Information

Educational Plan: Elementary, Middle, High School, including specialized services

Dr. Brenda Myers

myersb@norwalkps.org

 

Special Education

 

Yvette Goorevitch

goorevitchy@norwalkps.org

 

Health and Safety

Sandra Faioes

faioess@norwalkps.org

 

Talent and Staffing

Javier Padilla

padillaj@norwalkps.org

 

Co-curricular (athletics, band, extra-curricular, camps etc.)

Doug Marchetti, Jennifer Katona

 

marchettid@norwalkps.org

Katonaj@norwalkps.org

 

Technology

 

Ralph Valenzisi

valenzisir@norwalkps.org

 

Family and Community Engagement

 

Brenda Wilcox Williams

williams@norwalkps.org

 

Finance

Tom Hamilton

hamilton@norwalkps.org

 

Food Service

Kevin McGinn,

Jill Kress

Kevin.McGinn@compass-usa.com

kressj@norwalkps.org

 

Facilities

Bill Hodel

hodelw@norwalkps.org

 

Transportation

Johanna Zanvettor

zanvettorj@norwalkps.org

 


While Norwalk Public Schools has already established strict health and safety protocols for limited in-person learning this summer, there is still much to accomplish in a short period of time. The Task Force will move quickly and decisively in the coming weeks to meet the upcoming deadline for submission of our proposal to the State for the Fall re-opening, as well as to meet our own local academic, operational, and personnel planning needs.

It is anticipated that decisions of the Task Force, while adapted to and applied to the unique circumstances of Norwalk’s schools, will follow the guidance and parameters contained in the statewide plan issued by the Connecticut State Department of Education report: Adapt, Advance, Achieve: Connecticut’s Plan to Learn and Grow Together.